FIVE THE HIEROPHANT release single from upcoming album

(Dark Essence Records)


FIVE THE HIEROPHANT release single from upcoming album


With "Through Aureate Void" set to be released on the 25th February, Dark Essence Records have today released  the single " Leaf in the Current", from what will be FIVE THE HIEROPHANT's second full-length album.  

" Leaf in the Current" is the opening track from the album and this is what FIVE THE HIEROPHANT had to say about it:

‘Leaf in the current' is the first piece we ever did for the new album. It has been well over a year since we started the recording, a process that was supposed to be like a quick exciting bang and ended up in being  like this draining everlasting orgy without hope for culmination on the horizon. If you excuse the metaphor. So from the perspective of this time,  I believe that this track is the most representative of Five The Hierophant version 2020 and should give you a good clue as to what is about to unfold.

It  can be streamed or downloaded from various locations at https://darkessencerecords.fanlink.to/5th_leafinthecurrent

FIVE THE HIEROPHANT's  lineup comprises Chris on drums, Dan on percussion instruments (toms, bongos, djembe, zither, tabla, triangle guirro, shakers, death whistle, cymbals), Mitch - bass guitar effects, omichord, noisebox, analogue synthesizer, Jon on saxophone, music saw, bells, Kali on guitar, field recordings, violin, zither, bow guitar, dungchen. And much more besides!

With their use of such a plethora of unusual instruments FIVE THE HIEROPHANT are able to create a sound where psychedelic black metal combines with jazz and doom, leading the listener into drone-like universe shrouded in mysticism and mystery.

And, with their latest offering, the band has followed an even more psychedelic direction, whilst keeping intact the heaviness and darkness that make FIVE THE HIEROPHANT’s music so devastating, as the band recently explained:

It took us longer than anticipated, as you can imagine, due to circumstances that befall us all. Nonetheless, the new album is finished, and ready to take you on a journey through aureate void. It’s quite abstract, and there’s lots of experimentation, both in regard to the sound and instruments used, and to the song structures. A lot of it comes from improvisation and leaving things to chance. I suppose we have taken it further than our debut album.

FIVE THE HIEROPHANT have once again used the work of the legendary Norwegian painter Odd Nerdrum for the album’s cover art, and track listing for “Through Aureate Void” is as follows:

1. Leaf in the Current
2. Fire from Frozen Cloud
3. Berceuse (for Magnetic Sleep)
4. Pale Flare over Marshes
5. The Hierophant (II)

“Through Aureate Void” will be available in CD, LP and Digital formats, and can now be pre-ordered from:

Webshop: https://darkessencerecords.no/shop
Bandcamp: https://five-the-hierophant.bandcamp.com
US Webshop: https://darkessence.aisamerch.com/ 

A video teaser for “Through Aureate Void” can be seen below



As well as releasing “Through Aureate Void” on the 26th February, Dark Essence Records will also be releasing for the very first time a vinyl version of the album’s  predecessor, 2017’s  “Over Phlegethon”.  Tracklisting is as follows:

1. Queen over Phlegethon
2. Vampire
3. Seafarer
4. Der Geist der stets Verneint
5. Sepulchre
6. Omen Tree

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/fivethehierophant/
Webshop:  https://fivethehierophant.bigcartel.com
Dark Essence Records: www.darkessencerecords.no




Andre nyheter:

03.03.2021: Prog Rockers JORDSJØ reveal details and new single from upcoming album
03.03.2021: Mayhem flytter norges turneen sin og legger til to konserter
01.03.2021: VALDAUDR - Drapsdalen out now
28.02.2021: Shevils ga ut ny singel og video
28.02.2021: PICTURE ANN - releases new EP
24.02.2021: Nathaniel Shannon and the Vanishing Twin unleash video for Mater Tenebrarum
24.02.2021: Nekromantheon Unleash Skull Splitting New Track 'Thanatos'
24.02.2021: INFERNO 2021 AVLYSES – NYE DATOER FOR 2022
23.02.2021: FLOGGING MOLLY Live from Dublin on St Patrick's day
21.02.2021: BAEST – release new single + new official video
19.02.2021: Dreamshade unveil new single and video
19.02.2021: New single from Nightfyre
19.02.2021: Dust Mice release the video for their new single Choom Wagon
18.02.2021: Hamferð launches new video for "Frosthvarv (Live in the Eysturoy Tunnel)"
17.02.2021: Die ek release self-titled new single and video
17.02.2021: VREID ute med ny singel og video
16.02.2021: Norwegian Black Metallers Nordjevel Release New Single
15.02.2021: DEATH, OBITUARY, former MASSACRE members team up for new band INHUMAN CONDITION
14.02.2021: South African Thrash Machine CHAOS DOCTRINE have released new single
12.02.2021: Razorbats smakebit fra nytt album
11.02.2021: Intelligent Music Project VI 'The Creation'
10.02.2021: Norwegian rockers DOBBELTGJENGER reveal new video and single
07.02.2021: BLACK HILL COVE - new single out
05.02.2021: RAVN - ute med ny singel
05.02.2021: Shevils ute med ny singel idag
04.02.2021: SUPERLYNX reveal details, single and new video from upcoming album
04.02.2021: Deception sitt album 'The Mire' slippes i morgen!
04.02.2021: ROADBURN Redux
03.02.2021: VREID annonserer nytt album. Et konseptuelt verk, slippes med en helaftens film
02.02.2021: Norwegian Black Metallers Nordjevel Announce New EP