Prog Rockers JORDSJØ reveal details and new single from upcoming album

(Karisma Records)


Prog Rockers JORDSJØ reveal details and new single from upcoming album


Almost exactly two years after the release of their last album, Norwegian Prog Rockers JORDSJØ are back with their third full-length.  Titled "Pastoralia", the album is a must for fans of Scandinavian prog, following, as it does, the tradition of some of last centuries' best Nordic rock by melding Progressive rock with interesting melodies, and giving the whole a Folk-inspired twist.

As a prelude to its release, JORDSJØ have chosen to debut "Skumring i Karesuando",  the second track from "Pastoralia",  and the band had this to say about the track:

"Skumring i Karesuando" is a little glimpse into Jordsjø and Actionfredags mini "Terra Borealis Tour", where we played in Trondheim, Umeå and Karlsøy in Troms. A slightly scruffy caravan which slowly and steadily marched through desolate and majestic landscapes. The song is split into four parts, called Ferd, Syner, Ankomst and Hjem.

"Skumring i Karesuando" can be downloaded or streamed from a variety of services at https://karismarecords.fanlink.to/Jordsjo_Skumring-i-Karesuando

Well known in the flourishing Oslo Prog scene, and inspired by European 20th century classical and jazz music, JORDSJØ's duo is comprised of multi instrumentalist Håkon Oftung (TUSMØRKE, BLACK MAGIC) and drummer Kristian Frøland. With "Pastoralis", the band has produced an album that is a musical journey that travels from minimalist mellotron passages to a full on rock tempest and sees the JORDSJØ moving  further into jazzy, progressive,  musical landscapes.

“Pastoralia” was recorded and produced in its entirety by JORDSJØ between March and November 2020, in the basement of Bjørnerød Gård  in Våler, Østfold. Thematically, the album is based on dreams, a longing for freedom and the fictional place “Pastoralia” – where every day is like tropical nights in Northern Norway, where the forest people dance around campfires.

JORDSJØ are joined on “Pastoralia” by a number of guests including Ola Mile Bruland (ACTIONFREDAG), Håkon Knutzen, Vilde Mortensen Storesund, Mats Lemjan, Christian Meaas Svendsen and Åsa Ree (MEER, TUSMØRKE, WOBBLER).

With artwork by  Sindre Foss Skancke, tracklisting for “Pastoralia” is as follows:

  1. Prolog
  2. Skumring i Karesuando
  3. Mellom Mjødurt, Marisko og Søstermarihånd
  4. Pastoralia
  5. Fuglehviskeren
  6. Beitemark
  7. Vettedans
  8. Jord III

Set for release on Karisma Records on the 7th May, “Pastoralia” will be available in CD, Digital and black Vinyl formats as well as in a blue Vinyl version which will be limited to 600 copies.  It is now available to pre-order from the following:

https://karismarecords.aisamerch.com (US)

More information about JORDSJØ can be found on the band’s Facebook page at https://www.facebook.com/jordsjoe/

A video for the track ” Hulderheimen”  from JORDSJØ’s self-titled 2015 release can be seen at https://youtu.be/F-kRpbd0kGI


Andre nyheter:

20.04.2021: Cannibal Corpse launches video for 'Necrogenic Resurrection'
19.04.2021: Veins ute med nytt album idag
19.04.2021: Save The Noize - charity in benefit of the 'Musikerförbundets' crisis foundation
18.04.2021: Danny Larsen - utstilling på Kittelsen museet
16.04.2021: Dust Mice release eclectic new album
15.04.2021: Gåte slipper musikkvideo til Kjærleik
15.04.2021: Nekromantheon Release "Dead Temples" - LIVE FROM THE CITY OF DIS
14.04.2021: CRYPTS - new video out
14.04.2021: ILLT er ute med sin nye single 'SONS OF THE NORTHERN LIGHTS'
14.04.2021: VREID slipper siste kapittel før album og film
12.04.2021: Hideous Divinity Releases Second Single Off Forthcoming EP 'LV-426'
11.04.2021: Razorbats ute med ny skive
08.04.2021: LOCH VOSTOK announces title, release date and tracklist for upcoming 8th album
08.04.2021: JORDSJØ Reveal New Single From Upcoming Album
07.04.2021: Årabrot - Norwegian Gothic, ute 9. April
06.04.2021: SONATA ARCTICA - announce acoustic album and tour for autumn 2021
31.03.2021: Oooth release the video for Departures
26.03.2021: Shevils ute med ny singel idag
26.03.2021: Ill System - Rock Bottom - new track and video
26.03.2021: Norwegian Black Metallers Nordjevel Release New Single & Lyric Video
25.03.2021: MESHUGGAH Enter Studios For New Record + Announce Return Of Fredrik Thordendal
24.03.2021: Cannibal Corpse launches new single, 'Murderous Rampage'
24.03.2021: Nekromantheon ute med ny singel i dag
23.03.2021: Black Metallers HYMNR debut track from their upcoming album
23.03.2021: Bergensartist Chris Wicked ute med ny singel/video
22.03.2021: Nytt protest album fra Roy Einar Dreng, ute den 26. mars
22.03.2021: Ivan 'Meathook' Gujic Releases Cover Video For JOHNNY CASH's 'Folsom Prison Blue