A New Beginning

Anmeldt av Matt Coe
(Nightmare Records, 2012)

Karakter: 4.5/6

germanpascual_anewbeginningcover.jpgThe vocalist for the last Narnia album and current co-vocalist of Divinefire blazes his own trail with this debut solo record "A New Beginning". These 10 songs reside in a melodic power metal realm as German ascends to the upper reaches with a firm grasp of Ronnie James Dio, David Coverdale, and Jorn Lande as mentor reference points. Most of the material resides in that faster, neo-classical inspired realm a la Narnia or Rob Rock- "Open Your Eyes" and "If the Sky Would Fall" especially entertaining for those who live for shredding escapades, thunderous double bass, and epic, high from the heaven melodies.

A couple of times on the record I felt the riffing veers a touch to close to the down tuned, modern staccato feel ("I Call For the One" especially), but the playing is top notch and I assure you that if you are looking for a boatload of guitar hero worthy parts, you'll find them on "A New Beginning". Guitarists Carl-Johan Grimmark and Jani Stefanovic from Narnia and Divinefire respectively contribute their skillful riffing and taste making to the proceedings- some of their best work occurring on the heavier "Fate of the Blind" and piano fueled opener "Seek the Truth".

German understands that a traditional, power metal effort needs certain components to leave a lasting impression beyond a couple of cursory listens. The tempos have to vary. The melodies need to be strong and memorable. The production values need to be top notch. Overall, the songwriting and performances make "A New Beginning" an outstanding release for those who live for Masterplan, Narnia, and the "Afterlife" era of Nocturnal Rites.




Andre omtaler:

24.08.2019: ECLIPTIC VISION - Ecliptic Vision
23.08.2019: ALL WE'VE KNOWN - Dissidence
22.08.2019: PESTEROUS MIND - Halluci.Nation
21.08.2019: SINHERESY - Out Of Connection
20.08.2019: THE DEAD DAISIES - Locked and Loaded
19.08.2019: THE NEGATIVE BIAS - Narcissus Rising
18.08.2019: STINGER - Colourblind
17.08.2019: MAGIC PIE - Fragments of the 5th Element
15.08.2019: FAITHSEDGE - Bleed For Passion
14.08.2019: BEASTMAKER - Eye Of The Storm
13.08.2019: CROBOT - Motherbrain
12.08.2019: AS I MAY - My Own Creations
12.08.2019: SHADES OF DEEP WATER - Death's Threshold
10.08.2019: MARTIN POPOFF - Wheels of Steel: The Explosive Early Years of NWOBHM
10.08.2019: RED DEAD ROADKILL - Sweet Songs of Anguish
09.08.2019: TOMB MOLD - Planetary Clairvoyance
08.08.2019: MARTIN POPOFF - Lettin' Go: UFO in the '80s and '90s
08.08.2019: ENFORCED - At The Walls
07.08.2019: ROGGA JOHANSSON - Entrance To The Otherwhere
06.08.2019: MARTIN POPOFF - The Sun Goes Down: Thin Lizzy's Final Years