Division By Zero

Anmeldt av Matt Coe
(Self-released, 2013)

Karakter: 5.5/6

mementowaltz_divisionbyzerocover.jpg19 years into their recording careers and with a series of demos and EP's under their belts, the time is right for this Italian progressive metal band to release their debut album "Division By Zero". It's not as if the quartet struggled with numerous lineup changes: 3 of the four members have been involved since the inception in 1994 (bassist Giuseppe Deiana, guitarist Livio Poier, and drummer Gabriele Maciocco) with newest edition on vocals Lord Goblin coming in 7 years ago. What I always worry about when taking in Italian progressive metal is their penchant for liberally borrowing too heavily from their influences.

Fortunate for my ears (and you as the listener), Memento Waltz has worked very hard at establishing their own version of intricate and technically brilliant metal while also remembering to write steady melodic hooks both musically and lyrically- and as such these 7 songs keep me coming back for more intense, headphone-type sessions again and again. Elements of blitzkrieg bass lines go toe to toe with point/ counterpoint guitar harmonies and layers of clean melodic lines - in such a way that haven't been heard since the days of early Sieges Even, Watchtower, Zero Hour, and a little bit of Spiral Architect. The rhythms within "Europa (Jupiter II)" for instance have that dark adventurous, circular movement and Giuseppe can free flow with some of the best slap/ technical low end work this side of Les Claypool or Troy Tipton.

The album opens with a familiar computer error message sound on "Omicron", but the four musicians quickly converge with this off tempo technically sharp riff and Lord Goblin smoothly glides over the progressive proceedings with multi-octave confidence (think Watchtower meets Fates Warning with a little James Rivera for good measure) and occasionally whispered parts for even more atmospheric effect. Gabriele and Giuseppe throw down an unbelievable fusion opening to "Mechdreamer" - as more exotic / Arabic oriented chord choices fuel this 8:03 epic arrangement, again changing dynamics on a dime from heavier chaos to tranquil serenity and back again. High quality production values and a reasonable playing time at a mere 41 minutes means that this is an album that you can take in without brain overload- but understand that Memento Waltz is not an easy progressive metal listen.

Supplementing the sound with brilliant guest guitar work from Pharaoh's Matt Johnsen, know that "Division by Zero" is one of the best progressive metal releases of 2013, and I'm shocked that Memento Waltz hasn't been signed by the Inside Out or Sensory Records' of the world.



Andre omtaler:

17.09.2018: MONSTROSITY - The Passage Of Existence
11.09.2018: DERDIAN - DNA
11.09.2018: DYING FETUS - Wrong One to Fuck With
09.09.2018: SLAAMASKIN - M
08.09.2018: VEISLAKT - Sandnes Undergrunn Circus & Kabaret
05.09.2018: MATT RICHARDS & MARK LANGTHORNE - Somebody to Love: The Life, Death and Legacy of Freddie Mercury
04.09.2018: UNKNOWING - Beyond The Eyes Of Deceit
01.09.2018: DEPRAVITY - Evil Upheaval
01.09.2018: POLDUR'S GATE - Directions
31.08.2018: JON&GJERRY - Equals and Friends
30.08.2018: BEFOULED - Refuse to Rot
29.08.2018: BILL KOPP - Reinventing Pink Floyd – From Syd Barrett to the Dark Side of the Moon
28.08.2018: OMNIUM GATHERUM - The Burning Cold
26.08.2018: RAVEN THRONE - I Miortvym Snicca Zolak
25.08.2018: MADDER MORTEM - Marrow
21.08.2018: ISKALD - Innhøstinga
18.08.2018: EVERSIN - Amageddon Genesi
16.08.2018: SPURV - Myra
15.08.2018: Sylvain Sylvain with Dave Thompson - There's No Bones in Ice Cream: Sylvain Sylvain's Story of the New York Dolls
14.08.2018: ALKALOID - Liquid Anatomy