Angels of Dirt - Beasts of Rebellion

Anmeldt av Jens Nepper
(Folter Records, 2019)

Karakter: 4/6

DARKMOON WARRIOR album cover.jpgThe German outfit Darkmoon Warrior offers unpolished and murky black metal of the most vile and loathsome kind – just the way you sickos out there like it! This is as raw and pounding as they come, but there is more than meets the eye to this unholy affair. The majority of riffs are catchy albeit rather simple, and the song arrangements and structures and whatnot do not pose much of a challenge to the listener, but despite it being slightly predictable it still varies more than many similar releases out there. For one thing, these guys know a thing or two about evoking a blackened mood by means of sound and words. Its oppressive atmosphere is perhaps its greatest strength and the sinister aura that envelops and courses through the entire thing is both enticing and nasty. Another thing that totally works for yours truly is that fact that some rather epic and morose ideas and elements also make an appearance and serve as a nice contrast to the more straightforward attack on the senses. “Into Thy Crimson Realms” is a good example of how those dichotomies work in tandem with each other and spawn a captivating tune that is as majestic as it is unsettling. Another strong cut is the morbid “Svjatogor”.

Musically and stylistically, Darkmoon Warrior remind me a bit of Urgehal and Temple of Baal, and that suits me perfectly. There are traits of thrash metal and death metal too, and certain aspects of the band's sound lean toward orthodox black metal, so I reckon that “Angels of Dirt – Beasts of Rebellion” ought to satisfy most of you ugly fuckers out there who crave pitch black metal that reek of hatred and contempt.


Andre omtaler:

05.07.2020: ARABS IN ASPIC - Madness and Magic
04.07.2020: AIRBAG - A Day at the Beach
03.07.2020: LAMB OF GOD - Lamb of God
02.07.2020: COULDRON BLACK RAM - Slaver
01.07.2020: ORMSKRIK - Ormskrik
30.06.2020: ELECTRIC MOB - Discharge
29.06.2020: MAGNUS KARLSSON'S FREE FALL - We Are the Night
26.06.2020: DAVE BALL - Electronic Boy: My Life in and out of Soft Cell
25.06.2020: INTEGRAL RIGOR - Fallen/Brain Blind/Alast
24.06.2020: SOLEMNITY - Through Endless Darkness
23.06.2020: VEGA - Grit Your Teeth
22.06.2020: SPARAGMOS - Invitation From The Host Of Wrath/Mortal Organic Remains
20.06.2020: LESSER GLOW - Nullity
19.06.2020: ARA - Jurisprudence
18.06.2020: IAN PREECE - Listening to the Wind: Encounters with 21st Century Independent Record Labels
17.06.2020: PARALYSIS - Mob Justice
16.06.2020: ESOCTRILIHUM - Eternity Of Shaog
15.06.2020: DEATHBARREL - Rebuke/Revoke
14.06.2020: [EVERTRAPPED] - The Last Extinctions
13.06.2020: PRETTY MAIDS - Maid in Japan – Future World Live 30th Anniversary